La Découverte

neutralizing allergens the breakthrough hero
neutralizing-allergens-the-breakthrough-dr-ebenezer

« La plupart des méthodes de prise en charge de ces allergènes se concentrent sur l’évitement ou la limitation de l’exposition aux chats, ou le traitement des symptômes. Notre découverte en revanche, présente le potentiel d’empêcher la réaction allergique de se déclencher. Cette étude représente une étape importante et pourrait bien transformer la façon dont les gens gèrent leur allergie aux chats. »

Dr. Ebenezer Satyaraj, Directeur de la Nutrition moléculaire chez Purina et chercheur principal

La Recherche Purina

how-it-works

Les chercheurs de Purina ont découvert qu’un ingrédient issu de l’œuf et comportant des anticorps anti-Fel d 1, le principal allergène des chats, peut s’associer à Fel d 1 dans la salive du chat et sur ses poils, empêchant ainsi de déclencher une réponse allergique chez un individu sensible aux allergènes du chat.

Une approche transformationnelle pour gérer des allergies aux chats

Regarder la vidéo pour voir le mode d’action 


L’anti-Fel d 1 IgY est naturellement produit par des poules qui partagent leur environnement avec des chats (p. Ex. des fermes avec des poules et des chats en liberté) et transmis à leurs œufs.

L’ingrédient issu de l’œuf et contenant les anticorps IgY a démontré sa sécurité d’emploi en médecine humaine et vétérinaire.1-4 L’innocuité de cet ingrédient a également été vérifiée chez les chats, selon une vaste étude de sécurité effectuée avec différentes concentrations d’anti-Fel d 1 IgY, certaines étant bien plus élevées que celles utilisées dans nos études d’efficacité.5 

Cette approche préserve la production normale d’allergènes par le chat sans affecter la physiologie générale de l’animal.

Des résultats transformationnels

Effective for reducing active Fel d1
The breakthrough effective for reducing active fel d1

Une nouvelle approche de réduction de la charge d’allergène Fel d 1 tire parti de l’interaction anticorps-allergène pour neutraliser le Fel d 1 après sa production par le chat, mais avant sa dissémination dans l’environnement. Les chats ont été nourris avec un aliment comportant un ingrédient issu de l'œuf et contenant l’anti Fel d 1 IgY, avec pour résultat une diminution significative du Fel d 1 actif (le Fel d 1 capable de se lier à l’IgE et de déclencher une réaction allergique chez les individus sensibilisés) dans la salive ou sur le poil du chat.6,7

the breakthrough effective for reducing active fel d1

Lorsque les chats étaient nourris avec un aliment comportant un ingrédient issu de l'œuf et contenant l’anti-Fel d 1 IgY, le niveau de Fel d 1 actif dans leur salive diminuait de façon importante après 3 semaines.6  L’aliment avec l’ingrédient issu de l'œuf a également réduit de façon importante le Fel d 1 actif dans les poils de chat : 97% des chats ont présenté une diminution des niveaux de Fel d 1 actif, avec une diminution moyenne de 47% à partir de la semaine 3.

La moitié des chats présentaient une réduction d’au moins 50% des niveaux de Fel d 1 actifs dans leur poil et 86% des chats présentaient une réduction d’au moins 30% par rapport à leur niveau de référence.7

Par conséquent, les niveaux de Fel d 1 s’en trouvent diminués dans l’environnement, ce qui peut réduire les symptômes des gens allergiques.7,8 

Cette découverte pourrait transformer la façon de gérer les allergies aux chats, avec pour résultat ultime de rapprocher les Hommes et les chats.

Contenu connexe

Découvrez-en davantage sur cette découverte majeure et sur ce qu’elle pourrait signifier pour la vie des chats et des gens qui s’en occupent et les aiment :

En savoir plus

  1. Karlsson, M., Kollberg, H. & Larsson, A. (2004). Chicken IgY: utilizing the evolutionary difference. World’s Poultry Science Journal, 60, 341-348. doi: 10.1079/WPS200422
  2. Nguyen, S.V., Umeda, K., Yoyokama, H,, Tohya, Y. & Kodama, Y. (2006). Passive protection of dogs against clinical disease due to Canine parvovirus-2 by specific antibody from chicken egg yolk. The Canadian Journal of Veterinary Research, 70, 62-64.
  3. Rahman, S., Nguyen S.V., Icatlo, F.C., Umeda, K. & Kodama Y. (2013). Oral passive IgY-based immunotherapeutics. Human Vaccines & Immunotherapeutics, 9, 1039-1048. doi: 10.4161/hv.23383
  4. Schade, R., Calzado, E.G., Sarmiento, R., Chacana, P.A., Porankiewics-Asplund, J., Terzolo, H.R., (2005). Chicken egg yolk antibodies (IgY-technology): A review of progress in production and use in research and human and veterinary medicine. Alternatives to Laboratory Animals, 33(2),129-154.
  5. Matulka, R. A., Thompson, L. & Corley, D. Evaluation of a multi-level safety study of anti-Fel d 1 IgY. Forthcoming, 2019.
  6. Satyaraj, E., Li, Q., Sun, P. & Sherrill, S. Anti-Fel d 1 immunoglobulin Y antibody-containing egg ingredient lowers allergen levels in cat saliva. Submitted, Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery.
  7. Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Filipi, I., Cramer, K. & Sherrill, S. (2019). Reduction of active Fel d 1 from cats using an antiFel d 1 egg IgY antibody. Immunity, Inflammation & Disease. Advance online publication. doi: 10.1002/iid3.244
  8. Wedner, H.J., Mantia, T., Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Al-Hammadi, N. & Sherrill, S. Feeding cats egg product with anti-Fel d 1 antibodies decreases environmental Fel d 1 and allergic response. Manuscript in preparation.

The Breakthrough

neutralizing-allergens-the-breakthrough
neutralizing-allergens-the-breakthrough-dr-ebenezer

“Most methods for managing these allergens focus on limiting or avoiding exposure to cats or treating the symptoms. Our discovery, however, has the potential to prevent the allergic response from taking place. This study is a significant milestone and may be able to transform how people manage their cat allergies.”

Dr. Ebenezer Satyaraj, Director of Molecular Nutrition at Purina and lead investigator on the research

Purina's research
how-it-works

Purina scientists discovered that an egg product ingredient containing IgY antibodies to Fel d1, the major cat allergen, can bind to Fel d1 in the cat’s saliva, preventing its ability to trigger an allergic response in a cat allergen-sensitized individual.

neutralizing-allergens-video

Watch the video to see the mode of action behind this discovery.


Anti-Fel d1 IgY are naturally produced by chickens who share their environment with cats (e.g., farms with chickens and free-roaming cats) and transferred to their eggs.

Egg-based IgY ingredients have been used safely in human and veterinary medicine.1-4 The egg product ingredient containing anti-Fel d1 IgY is safe for cats, based on a comprehensive safety study that fed an egg product ingredient with multiple levels of anti-Fel d1 IgY, including levels many times higher than those used in our efficacy studies.5

This approach maintains normal allergen production by the cat, without affecting the cat’s overall physiology.   

Transformational Results

Effective for reducing active Fel d1
neutralizing-allergens-purina-research

A new approach for reducing Fel d1 allergen load takes advantage of the antibody-allergen interaction to neutralize Fel d1 after its production by the cat but before it spreads to the environment. A diet with an egg product ingredient containing anti-Fel d1 IgY was fed to cats, resulting in significant decreases in active Fel d1 (Fel d1 that is capable of binding to IgE and triggering an allergic response in sensitized individuals) in the cats’ saliva and on their hair.6,7

average-reduction-of-47-percent-in-active-fel-d1-levels

When cats were fed a diet with the egg product ingredient containing anti-Fel d1 IgY, the levels of active Fel d1 in their saliva were significantly reduced within 3 weeks.6 The diet with the egg product ingredient also significantly reduced active Fel d1 on the cat’s hair: 97% of the cats had a decrease in active Fel d1 levels, with an average reduction of 47% starting in Week 3.7

One-half of the cats had at least a 50% reduction in active Fel d1 levels on their hair, and 86% of cats had a reduction of at least 30% from baseline levels.7

A reduction in active Fel d1 in the cats’ saliva and on their hair will ultimately reduce active Fel d1 in the environment, which may help reduce symptoms in allergic people.7,8

This discovery could transform how people manage allergies to cats, ultimately bringing cats and people closer together.

Related content
Find out more about this discovery, and what this could mean for the lives of cats and the people who care for them:
Find out more
  1. Karlsson, M., Kollberg, H. & Larsson, A. (2004). Chicken IgY: utilizing the evolutionary difference. World’s Poultry Science Journal, 60, 341-348. doi: 10.1079/WPS200422
  2. Nguyen, S.V., Umeda, K., Yoyokama, H,, Tohya, Y. & Kodama, Y. (2006). Passive protection of dogs against clinical disease due to Canine parvovirus-2 by specific antibody from chicken egg yolk. The Canadian Journal of Veterinary Research, 70, 62-64.
  3. Rahman, S., Nguyen S.V., Icatlo, F.C., Umeda, K. & Kodama Y. (2013). Oral passive IgY-based immunotherapeutics. Human Vaccines & Immunotherapeutics, 9, 1039-1048. doi: 10.4161/hv.23383
  4. Schade, R., Calzado, E.G., Sarmiento, R., Chacana, P.A., Porankiewics-Asplund, J., Terzolo, H.R., (2005). Chicken egg yolk antibodies (IgY-technology): A review of progress in production and use in research and human and veterinary medicine. Alternatives to Laboratory Animals, 33(2),129-154.
  5. Matulka, R. A., Thompson, L. & Corley, D. Evaluation of a multi-level safety study of anti-Fel d1 IgY. Forthcoming, 2019.
  6. Satyaraj, E., Li, Q., Sun, P. & Sherrill, S. Anti-Fel d1 immunoglobulin Y antibody-containing egg ingredient lowers allergen levels in cat saliva. Submitted, Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery.
  7. Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Filipi, I., Cramer, K. & Sherrill, S. (2019). Reduction of active Fel d1 from cats using an antiFel d1 egg IgY antibody. Immunity, Inflammation & Disease. Advance online publication. doi: 10.1002/iid3.244
  8. Wedner, H.J., Mantia, T., Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Al-Hammadi, N. & Sherrill, S. Feeding cats egg product with anti-Fel d1 antibodies decreases environmental Fel d1 and allergic response. Manuscript in preparation.