Impact Sur L’homme

neutralizing-allergens-human-breakthrough
human impact allergies to cats
Les allergies aux chats peuvent affecter la qualité de vie des propriétaires et même les forcer à passer moins de temps avec leurs chats.

Bien que les recommandations actuelles1 suggèrent de retirer le chat du foyer comme principal moyen de gérer ces allergies, cette recommandation entraîne souvent une résistance de la part des propriétaires de chat qui considèrent leurs chats comme des membres de la famille. Les propriétaires allergiques aux chats se donnent beaucoup de peine à trouver des solutions qui leur permettront de garder leurs chats. 

La Recherche Purina

neutralizing-allergens-purina-research

Lorsque les chats sont nourris avec un aliment contenant un ingrédient provenant de l'œuf et contenant l’anti-Fel d 1 IgY, le niveau de Fel d 1 actif dans leur salive et sur leurs poils s’en trouve réduit de façon significative.2,3 Par conséquent, cela réduit le niveau de Fel d 1 actif dans l’environnement, diminuant ainsi les symptômes des gens allergiques.2-4

human impact reduction in total nasal symptom score

Lors d’une étude croisée utilisant des chambres d’exposition environnementale individuelles, les participants humains sensibles aux allergènes de chats ont été exposés à des poils et des squames provenant de chats nourris avec un aliment contrôle ou aliment test (aliment supplémenté avec un ingrédient provenant de l’œuf, comportant l’anti-Fel d 1 IgY).

Lorsqu’ils ont été exposés à des poils et des squames provenant de chats nourris avec l’aliment test, les participants ont démontré une diminution importante du score total des symptômes nasaux et une diminution de certains symptômes oculaires, comparé à l’exposition aux poils et aux squames des chats dont le régime alimentaire ne comportait pas cet ingrédient.3

Cette nouvelle approche, qui est le produit de plus d’une décennie de recherches, offre aux propriétaires souffrant d’allergies aux chats la possibilité de passer plus de temps avec leur chat. Elle donne aussi aux professionnels de santé l’occasion de réorienter leurs conversations avec les patients allergiques aux chats, en insistant sur les mesures proactives sans les conséquences émotionnelles associées à l’évitement du chat.

La charge allergénique totale et son rôle dans les allergies aux chats

La charge allergénique est la quantité totale d’allergènes présents dans l’environnement à un moment donné et le seuil allergique est le degré de tolérance d’un individu à la charge allergénique. Si la charge allergénique peut être diminuée en évitant ou en diminuant l’exposition à un ou plusieurs allergènes, le degré cumulé d’exposition aux allergènes peut tomber sous le seuil d’un individu et améliorer ou prévenir les symptômes d’allergie.4

 

human impact allergic threashold with FEL D1

 

 

Contenu connexe

Découvrez-en davantage sur cette découverte majeure et sur ce qu’elle pourrait signifier pour la vie des chats et des gens qui s’en occupent et les aiment :

En savoir plus

  1. Dávila, I., Dominguez-Ortega, J., Navarro-Pulido, A., Alonso, A., Antolin-Amerigo, D., Gonzalez-Mancebo, E., Martin-Garcia, C., Nunez-Acevedo, B., Prior, N., …Torrecillas, M. (2018). Consensus document on dog and cat allergy. Allergy73(6), 1206-1222. doi: 10.1111/all.13391  
  2. Satyaraj, E., Li, Q., Sun, P. & Sherrill, S. Anti-Fel d 1 immunoglobulin Y antibody-containing egg ingredient lowers allergen levels in cat saliva. Submitted, Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery.
  3. Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Filipi, I., Cramer, K. & Sherrill, S. (2019). Reduction of active Fel d 1 from cats using an antiFel d 1 egg IgY antibody. Immunity, Inflammation & Disease. Advance online publication. doi: 10.1002/iid3.244
  4. Wedner, H.J., Mantia, T., Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Al-Hammadi, N. & Sherrill, S. Feeding cats egg product with anti-Fel d 1 antibodies decreases environmental Fel d 1 and allergic response. Manuscript in preparation.

Human Impact

neutralizing-allergens-human-breakthrough
neutralizing-allergens-symptoms-of-allergies-to-cats
Allergies to cats impair the quality of life for cat owners and may force them to spend less quality time with their cats.

Although currently published guidelines1 recommend removing the cat from the home as a primary means of managing these allergies, this recommendation is often met with resistance because cat owners consider their cats as members of the family. Allergic cat owners often go to great lengths to find solutions that allow them to keep their cats.

Purina's research
neutralizing-allergens-purina-research

When cats were fed a diet with the egg product ingredient containing anti-Fel d1 IgY, the levels of active Fel d1 in their saliva and on their hair were significantly reduced.2,3 This will ultimately reduce active Fel d1 levels in the environment, which may reduce symptoms in allergic people.2-4

neutralizing-allergens-reduction-in-total-nasal-symptom-score

In a crossover study using individual environmental exposure chambers, cat allergen-sensitized human participants were exposed to hair and dander from cats fed either a control diet or a test diet (control diet with added egg product ingredient containing anti-Fel d1 IgY).

 When exposed to hair and dander from cats fed the test diet, the participants showed significantly reduced Total Nasal Symptom Scores and reductions in some ocular symptoms compared to their experience when exposed to hair and dander from cats that weren’t fed the diet with the ingredient.3

This new approach, which results from more than a decade of investigation, offers allergic cat owners the opportunity to spend more quality time with their feline companions. It also offers healthcare providers an opportunity to reframe their conversations with cat-allergic patients, allowing a focus on proactive measures without the emotional toll associated with recommending the removal of a cat from the home.

Total allergen load and its role in allergies to cats

The allergen load is the total amount of allergens present in the environment at a given time, and the allergen threshold is an individual’s tolerance level for the allergen load. If the allergen load can be reduced by avoiding or reducing exposure to one or more of the contributing allergens, the cumulative level of allergen exposure may fall below an individual’s threshold and improve or prevent allergy symptoms.4

 

human-impact-fel1-d1-reduction-chart

 

Visual representation of the impact of reducing an allergen, such as Fel d1, by approximately 50%. In this example, reducing Fel d1 lowers the cumulative allergen load and prevents the individual from reaching their allergic threshold.

Related content
Find out more about this discovery, and what this could mean for the lives of cats and the people who care for them:
Find out more
  1. Dávila, I., Dominguez-Ortega, J., Navarro-Pulido, A., Alonso, A., Antolin-Amerigo, D., Gonzalez-Mancebo, E., Martin-Garcia, C., Nunez-Acevedo, B., Prior, N., …Torrecillas, M. (2018). Consensus document on dog and cat allergy. Allergy73(6), 1206-1222. doi: 10.1111/all.13391  
  2. Satyaraj, E., Li, Q., Sun, P. & Sherrill, S. Anti-Fel d1 immunoglobulin Y antibody-containing egg ingredient lowers allergen levels in cat saliva. Submitted, Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery.
  3. Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Filipi, I., Cramer, K. & Sherrill, S. (2019). Reduction of active Fel d1 from cats using an antiFel d1 egg IgY antibody. Immunity, Inflammation & Disease. Advance online publication. doi: 10.1002/iid3.244
  4. Wedner, H.J., Mantia, T., Satyaraj, E., Gardner, C., Al-Hammadi, N. & Sherrill, S. Feeding cats egg product with anti-Fel d1 antibodies decreases environmental Fel d1 and allergic response. Manuscript in preparation.